Equality, eclecticism and audacity in the revolutionary line up of Primavera Sound 2019

Solange, Tame Impala, Cardi B, J Balvin, Erykah Badu, Future, Janelle Monáe, Nas and Rosalía are the headliners of a line up in which for the first time there are as many female as there are male artists. The festival consolidates its reinvention by committing to urban music without forgetting any essential references.

That in a line up there be equality between female and male artists should be normal.
That gender barriers and pigeonholing be dismantled should be normal.
That all stages, schedules and proposals be provocative should be normal.
That the music of the new generations be embraced without forgetting how we got here should be normal.

Is the Primavera Sound 2019 line up normal? No, but we want it to be. The New Normal, or the new normality, is the idea on which the universe of the nineteenth edition of the Barcelona festival is based. From May 30th to June 1st 2019, the Parc del Fòrum of Barcelona will be witness to an exceptional edition. A turning point,  this is the edition in which everything changes.

Equality in the line up between men and women, a stylistic eclecticism that is patently obvious and the drive to constantly take risks to connect to the times we live in are central concepts of the Primavera Sound 2019 line up. It is the culmination of what was intuited at the previous editions of the festival, heralded by the 226 names of which more than 50% are women, with a variety of genres that goes from extreme metal to reggaeton, passing through pop, hip hop, jazz, electronic experimentation, trap and canonical indie rock, and with an obvious commitment to renovate the most outstanding positions in the line up.