Iron Jinn are Oeds Beydals (The Devil’s Blood, Death Alley), Wout Kemkens (Shaking Godspeed, De Niemanders), Bob Hogenelst (Birth of Joy) and Gerben Bielderman (Pauw) and this debut is a frantic album that follows the logic of a dream; none. The nine songs are the result of a chaotic accumulation of modern world impressions, information and conversations that are forcefully pushed through a human funnel: the minds of Oeds and Wout. An album that took shape against the background noise of shifting paradigms, universal cramps, massages of the primal brain, plays full of mad lines, and it hesitantly kisses the underbelly that got fed oh so well. Iron Jinn sounds downright exciting. The voices of Wout and Oeds reverberate passionately over mesmerizing grooves and pure melodies and harmonies. A rare combination in contemporary (rock) music.

It’s an album on the edge of reality, fantasy and dream, but induced by real life events. The writing process started amidst the cultural prohibition in May 2020, so the music and lyrical themes are certainly influenced by the hypnosis type state of this moment in time. How the collective consciousness got taken over by one story. How opinions and paradigms can quickly be influenced and formed. How lack of meaningful social interactions, feelings of fear and a hunger for one big solution to a problem really can drive people into isolation or cultlike devotion (or both). All this surfaced more than ever the last years and as songwriting scavengers Oeds Beydals and Wout Kemkens took it all in and used it to create a piece of art that hopefully mirrors, but also celebrates the human spirit. The album embodies the uprising of a new star and creates a much needed dot on the horizon for both the creators and listeners. Iron Jinn will release their self-titled debut album on April 21st via Stickman Records.